St. John’s has a rich heritage and for well over a century has been a place of worship and community and is still very much a focal point of the local area. The impressive Gothic style building was the work of diocesan architect R B Preston and the church foundation stone was laid in 1906. Funding for the building was by public subscription. Later additions such as the north aisle and tower were added by 1914.
The light and spacious interior features some wonderful stained glass, intricate oak carving, an alabaster Reredos and a fine sounding pipe organ. Over recent years the building has benefited from significant restoration work including the roof, stone window mullions and some stained glass. An access ramp was added in 2018. This work was financed partly by the congregation with substantial grants from The National Lottery.
Tours of the church can be arranged by contacting the parish office (see opposite).